Scenario Branching and Focus

Hello!

I've a list page that has 4 buttons (attached). Each button navigates to several pages, then the user returns back to the main list page. Visually the list and branched pages run well, but when users return to the list page, the focus goes to the very beginning of the page. So the AT users has to hear the same elements every time they come back to the list page. 508 testers request that the focus would go to the next unselected button directly when the user returns back to list page. I wonder if there's any resolution for this issue through Java Script. I'm not an expert in Java Script and would appreciate any advice.

Thank you.

Discussion (28)

That is actually a 508 requirement, which makes me think that ELB must have a way to support it. I don't see one, however.

Thank you Carl. Yeah, I agree with you and hopefully I can find a solution for this issue because it is a "show stopper" for all our trainings.

Thanks again Carl. It's a great idea to repost it to Web Accessibility page and hopefully someone will be able to help. I cannot get the training passed the 508 testing until this issue is fixed.

@tmichael9734 , you can certainly do it in JavaScript, but I have never mastered JS in Lectora and can't give specific advice ... and you shouldn't have to, it should be built in.

You might consider reposting in the Web Accessibility area (https://rockstars.elearningbrothers.com/categories/screen-readers).

Just thinking out loud here but could you use a variable and run a JS action.

Something like:

Action On Show: Run JS

triv$('#button1392btn', getDisplayDocument()).focus()

Condition: If variable equals X

where '#button1392btn' is the ID of your button you want the browser to focus on when it returns.

On the last page before the learner returns to the Main list page, set that variable to X.

Have multiple actions based on the variable number set in each section.

Hope that helps

Cheers

Trev