Solved

Branching and Focus Behavior

Hello Team!

On an advice from a kind Rockstar, I'm reposting this question in this area with hopes to find a solution for it. My title cannot pass 508 testing until this issue is resolved and I'm stuck! So any help is much much appreciated.

I've a list page that has 4 buttons (attached). Each button navigates to several pages, then the user returns back to the main list page. Visually the list and branched pages run well, but when users return to the list page, the focus goes to the very beginning of the page. So the AT users has to hear the same elements every time they come back to the list page. I can feel it, it's really "annoying"!

508 testers request that the focus would go to the next unselected button directly when the user returns back to the list page. I wonder if there's any resolution for this issue through Java Script. I'm not an expert in Java Script and would appreciate any advice.

Thank you.

Solution

Hello! Has anyone contacted you yet about your issue?

Discussion (4)

Hello! Has anyone contacted you yet about your issue?

You can add an on-click set variable for variable_onReturnSetFocusTo = button2, then on Page Show > Run JavaScript to set focus to the element (variable_onReturnSetFocusTo).

But I am a bit curious about the statement, “My title cannot pass 508 testing until this issue is resolved....508 testers request that the focus would go to the next unselected button directly when the user returns back to the list page.”

Passing 508 testing is a tricky thing as so much depends on the individual tester and their interpretation of the requirements. I think you are referencing WCAG 2.4.3:

1. Focusable components need to receive focus in an order that preserves meaning and operability only when navigation sequences affect meaning and operability.

2. In those cases where it is required, there may be more than one order that will preserve meaning and operability.