Glossary Skip Options

REPOSTED from Accessibility area

undefined

Hello-

I am relatively new to 508, although I have been using Lectora for 10+ years. I have a client that wants the glossary to include the entire alphabet although there are only 10 letters that contain information…in case they add more in the future…no problem.

But, then the client sends me this “Tabbing through the alphabet seems repetitive; improve usability by setting Alphabet section headings in tab ordering.” …I have no idea what this means and didn’t know if I could just make the unused letters “hidden” from the reader and the tabbing?

Any thoughts & ideas would be appreciated! Thanks!

-Chris

REPONSE FROM: Christine O’Malley

undefined

One thought that comes to mind, is to have links that allow the use to jump back up to the alphabet. Not sure about hiding letters, I wonder if that could be confusing. Again, folks in the group may have some suggestions for you.

Thanks for asking the question!

Christine

RESPONSE FROM: Darrel Somoza

If there is no way to do this in Lectora itself, you should be able to accomplish it using JavaScript. I would try a script that will search through the letters (DIV elements) that do not have an onClick attribute and remove them from the tab order by setting their tabIndex to -1. I think that might work. Due to time constraints I can’t promise anything but if you post the .awt file (you always should include this in the zip, IMO) someone may be able to whip something up. I’m also not sure what removing an element from the tab order will do with respect to screen readers. I believe Jason is the forums resident expert there.

You might want to re-post or have this moved to questions and answers.

undefined

Discussion (14)

Jason, I forgot to ask, will removing the tabindex have an effect on screen readers?

Jason, thanks, I was hoping you would chime in. Great catch, I totally forgot about removing the pointer on mouse over!