Interface suggestions

The current setup is that when one clicks "Inherited Settings" one gets a dialog like this:

It works, but it betrays "programmer talking to programmer" thinking. As an interface designer, I notice that every Lectora developer I know gets mixed up and starts putting items in the wrong box—if you want something to show the instinct is to drag it to the right, because we English-speakers read left-to-right and we think of "left to right" as forward. Using a dialog also means several extra clicks and mouse-moves, and with the current practice being to have huge monitors, the dialog box metaphor can be thought of as wasting screen space (which for me is taken up by gray nothingness). Instead, why not have a Properties/Inheritance panel on the right, where there currently three rarely-used resource and library panels?

Let me mock one up for you:

Notice that this shows exactly the same information as the dialog box, but it's transparent what it means—checked items are inherited, unchecked are not. Also, it's always on the screen and selecting/deselecting an item has immediate effect, no need for an extra click on an OK button. Undo takes the place of Cancel on the dialog. For questions, I'd also have a Question panel with the same interface. You could imitate the Adobe panels-on-the-right interface (but without its irritating quirks).

Actually I can make a case for a Properties panel that's (optionally) always visible, perhaps as a third tab on the left beside Title Explorer and Thumbnail View. I spend a lot of my time doing development just opening and closing the Properties dialog boxes.

Finally, a couple of small things for a keyboard-intensive developer like me:

• Why doesn't the Esc key close the File page and return you to editing? (I say "File page" because there are no longer menus and it is not a Ribbon tab—it's a weird page thing that replaces the normal interface.)