Looking for some feedback

I developed this quiz and would like some feedback. It has 8 questions. You get 5 points for every correct answer. And, you get 4 seconds to answer each question. At the end, you can review your answers.

Let me know what you think. quiz is here: http://learntitle.com/sample/Lectora/Rapid%20Fire/index.html

Discussion (6)

I like the fun element with the timer. I would suggest giving more space for the question so the user can focus on the question (numbers don't need to be so close), and looks like you could use the align / spacing tools to make sure the numbers are evened up?

As an instructional designer, I would say that you've created a test of reading speed. If you wanted a test of memory, there's no actual reason for using that per-question timer.

For me 4 seconds per question are a true challenge to read and decide. Of course it may be enough for learners who know about the topic.

You might add a countdown before the first question, so the users can get prepared for the race and some form of break or a sound or a better visible switch / transition between two question to recognize the 4 seconds are over.

In addition to the comment from @carlfink - this is an accessibility nightmare. @timk mentioned it and I'll also second it that even as a fast reader, I couldn't even answer the first question in the 4 seconds. Imagine a learner with dyslexia trying to read the questions AND answer them in the allotted time. Imagine a user that does not use a mouse and navigates with keyboard only. Imagine a user relying on a screen reader.

Even if you think you have a small percentage of users that require assistive technology, it's important to consider them or you're doing them and even your abled users a disservice.

As an ID - what is the purpose of the "rapid fire" and, maybe more importantly, why only 4 seconds?

It's a great idea and foundation to build on while you consider some of the other comments and factors mentioned.