Solved

Prevent learner from advancing until video is watched?

Hi everyone! Is there a way in Lectora to keep a learner from advancing to the next slide until they've completed watched the video on the current slide? I was looking around in actions and couldn't quite work out a way to do it.

Solutions (2)

I am not totally sure if you can make a person watch a video, but we hide the navigation arrow for a period of time and then revealed it later. If the content of the video is important. You could do an attestation statement as a quiz question that they have watched the video and responsible for the knowledge learned and will act accordingly. I have a better written statement, but this is a thought.

Discussion (10)

Ah so I just figured it out! For anyone else who might need this, In "sync events" on the video you can set an action for the last second of the video, I had it set the state of the next button from "disabled" to "enabled" once the video hits that point. I'm new to Lectora so this is a big discovery for me, lol.

@CarlJFink that is true, fortunately the video is only 1 minute long so I think the odds are low of that happening. My director just wanted them to not be able to immediately jump past the slide without watching the video at all. If there is a way to prevent scrubbing through the video though within Lectora, I'd be delighted to hear it! I presume that would require some sort of javascript? I'm not a programmer so I'd have no idea to to put something like that together.

@wheels I'm glad that's on the roadmap! Looking forward to having that functionality in the future. That's a good tip about the text block, I'll give it a try. Thanks!

Hmm okay, a timed reveal of the next arrow is an interesting idea! I like the idea of the quiz acknowledgement too.

@JessicaE you are right, it's on the roadmap for Lectora Online @Troy