Solved

Help with setting up complicated variables/conditions for actions

Hello Lectora Community. My name is Jase and I am still a beginner with Lectora. I am creating a training course for my company and I am needing help with actions/variables/conditions for a specific page. I have attached a screenshot for the page I am working on. I have the page set up with instructions text and then the learner presses a button where the instructions text and button are hidden and doors with the door key are shown. The learner has to choose one of six doors to enter to start their adventure. I have added a custom status indicator (green checkmark) for the completion. But, I am wanting to have it set up with actions/variables/conditions to have it set up in Lectora to track the learner's status for completion. I am also wanting to have it set up so that the first five doors are completed and once they are completed, the sixth door appears. Finally, I would like it set up so that if the learner has to come back to this page throughout the training, they are able to bypass the instructions and reveal doors button. Is there a way to set this up? If so, can someone help me with setting it up since I don't know how to set it up.

Thank you in advance.

Solution

Hi Jase and welcome!

The following is generally how I set up pages like this.

When working with a more complex situation like this, variables are used to track the status of actions/states.

You'll need 8 variables:

1. One for each door to show status indicators, and determine if the 6th door can be shown.

2. One to track if Door6 can be shown

3. One to track if the Instructions were viewed

When you create the variable, check Retain variable value between sessions if you want the user to pick up where they left off when re-entering the course, or leave unchecked to reset when they re-enter. If you do this, you may want to have a button to View Instructions so the user can get back to the instructions.